An email from a colleague about doing something more worthwhile than the usual meaningless card exchange at Christmas.

Hi OMU colleagues
As you may recall over the past couple of years I have put forward the idea that rather than sending a multiplicity of Seasonal cards to one another that I could collect donations from the ‘savings’ made and purchase what are sometimes known as a ‘Gift for Life’ ( eg a goat, cow, school/ healthcare equipment etc)

I am happy to do this again for those who might wish to take part. I am sure you are aware there are various charities that offer these gifts and they are becoming increasing popular. If you have suggestions on what you might like to buy it would be appreciated.

I was also thinking of providing a single ‘master’ card which could be signed by all those wishing to join in.

If you would like to join in with this idea, please can you link up with me, ideally before 17th December

Thank you for your time and consideration of the idea.
Regards
Rodney

Now this is very noble, and should be given respect – no matter what the financial situation in the UK, my colleagues and I still live in a ‘first world country’ and like many people here, will be over-indulging this Christmas, and we should think of those around the world who struggle to survive. Unfortunately my colleagues have a somewhat evil sense of humour…

***************

Hi Rodney,
How much will a goat cost?
Mark.

***************

Its not the cost of the goat mark its the cost of the postage that concerns me!
Nick

***************

We could send it bit by bit.
Makes it easier to wrap too!!
Mark

***************

To be honest if you completely cover it in stamps it will protect it and maybe keep it warm which will be nice…..gonna be difficult to get it into post box!!
Nick

***************

Rodney
How much for a cow as I was planning to have a nice beef joint for Boxing Day, I could then freeze the rest in preparation for a few barbeques in the summer.
Regards
Bob [< Deputy Manager! LH]

***************

Hadn’t thought of a cow…….i was too caught up with the logistics of posting a goat…….nice option though!
Nick

***************

Yes please, count me in Rodney. Very good idea.
Cheers.
Jan [Our Manager! LH]
(p.s. As a vegetarian, my best offering would be a sprout 🙂

***************

You can make a nice Vindaloo from Sprouts.
🙂
Mark

***************

Easier to post than a goat Jan….good suggestion
Nick

***************

Runner Beans would be easier to fit into an envelope
(Me)

***************

Good suggestion better than Ian’s runner beans…..open the envelope and they will be off!!!
Nick

